Tags

, , , , , , ,

A dessert without cheese, is like a beautiful one-eyed woman”

“un dessert sans fromage est une belle à qui il manque un oeil

Quote from Brillat-Savarin, author of “The Physiology of Taste” (!9th century).  This book, more than any other since, elevated food and gastronomy as an art form and a way of life.

What a charmer, I would say!!! I can’t help imagining him trying to woo a woman by comparing her to cheese.

Your eyes (both of them) are blue as the veins of a Roquefort, and bedazzle me with their intensity.”

“For a kiss from your fruity lips I’ll gladly wait as long as I do for a Comté to age.”

“So soft and sweet is the touch of  your skin, like a young and fresh Valencay.”

“And with your feet, ripe as Camembert, my cheese platter would be complete

Brillat-Savarin remained unmarried his whole life. I wonder why?

PS: Androuet, a famous french cheesemonger, makes a very good cheese named after Brillat-Savarin.

