Tags

, , , ,

It seems like mothers are celebrated on a different day depending on where you live, which can be problematic for a multinational family like ours. I am French/German, was born in South Africa, lived most of my adult life in England, where I met my American wife; now we live in France. I just know that our son is going to have some form of identity crisis, especially when he learns he can never become American president, being born outside of America.

In France, Mother’s Day is on the last weekend of  May, and that should be the height of the asparagus season. This year however we have been seeing dreadful weather and it seems like spring is never coming. The biggest problem with that, apart from not getting enough natural vitamin D (but french doctors love to give you shots of vitamin D, so that’s not really a problem), is that it delays asparagus season.

Luckily asparagus came in time for Mother’s Day so I could make a nice asparagus meal, with a duo of asparagus pesto and scallops, asparagus and fresh goats cream, and a little humble potato flower . My wife was actually quite happy with the result (so I give myself a pat on the back).

Asparagus!!! saviour of the lost spring!

Asparagus!!! saviour of the lost spring!

For the little anecdote, another asparagus lover apart from my little family was the French king Louis the XIV, the Sun King.  He must have loved it for its taste as well as its supposedly medicinal and aphrodisiac values.

Being the Sun King he could not accept that asparagus would only grow in spring, and so his gardeners devised a way to force asparagus to grow nearly all year round. Everybody and everything (even asparagus) in the French kingdom would feel the light and warmth of the Sun King.

If only I had the power of the Sun King, I too would have asparagus all year round. But then waiting for asparagus is what makes it even more special.

